(left to right) Meg Barao '01, Amy Barao Kullar '01 and Tracy Bassett '06
(left to right) Meg Barao '01, Amy Barao Kullar '01 and Tracy Bassett '06

Wellesley Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2022

GET TICKETS for the Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner

WELLESLEY, Mass. -- In celebration of the spirit and achievement of Wellesley scholar-athletes and those who have inspired and supported them, Wellesley College Athletics has announced Meg Barao '01 (basketball), Amy Barao Kullar '01 (basketball), and Tracy Bassett '06 (cross country) as the Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022. 

Wellesley's Department of Physical Education, Recreation and Athletics (PERA) will host its biennial induction ceremony and dinner on the evening of Saturday, October 22, 2022. The event will take place at Tishman Commons, on the lower level of the Lulu Chow Wang Campus Center, at Wellesley College as part of Friends and Family Weekend. Check-in and drinks will begin at 5:00 PM EDT, with the program and dinner set to begin promptly at 6:00 PM EDT.

Tickets for the Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are now on sale. Tickets are $100 for adults and $25 for children (12 and under). Admission to the ceremony includes salad, dinner, dessert and drinks. Wellesley Athletics Hall of Famer and Chair of the Hall of Fame selection committee, Heidi Chang '96 will emcee the event, which will also include remarks from Wellesley College President Paula A. Johnson and Director of Athletics Bethany Ellis.

2022 Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame Ceremony & Dinner
  • Date: Saturday, October 22, 2022 (check-in opens at 5:00 PM EDT)
  • Time: 6:00-9:00 PM EDT
  • Location: Tishman Commons, Lulu Chow Wang Campus Center at Wellesley College
  • Cost: $100 for adults and $25 for children (12 and under)

The Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2022 will be joined at the induction ceremony and dinner by the Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2020. The 2022 induction ceremony and dinner will be the first since 2018, as the induction of the Class of 2020 has been delayed throughout the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Class of 2020 inductees Lia Galanis Economou '94 (Tennis), Alison Mostue '03 (Volleyball), Jack Woo '96 (Swimming), former Head Tennis Coach Christine Gray, and the 1977 Blue Crew Lightweight 4+ of Karen Cunningham Van Adzin '79, Kim Cooke Himmelfarb '77, Eleanor Horrigan Spyropoulos '80, Polly Munts Talen '77 and Elizabeth Pingchang Chow '79, will also take their place in the Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame on October 22, 2022. 

Meg Barao '01 and Amy Barao Kullar '01 are the first sisters to be inducted into the Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame. In their four years as teammates on the Wellesley basketball team, the Blue amassed a record of 67-31 overall (.684 winning percentage). That record included two twenty-win seasons, with Wellesley going 21-4 in 1999-2000 and 22-5 in 2000-2001). The 1999-00 team was the first, and still the only, Wellesley team to advance to the NCAA Tournament and the 2000-01 team finished as New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) and Eastern Collegiate Athletic Conference (ECAC) runner-up.

Meg Barao '01 scored 854 career points for Wellesley but it was her all-around play as a defender and rebounder that made her vital to the program's success. While standing only 5'9", Meg Barao collected 771 rebounds over her four year career with the Blue and was the team's leading rebounder during both her junior and senior season, including in 1999-200 when the program led NCAA Division III in rebounding margin. A two-time NEWMAC All-Conference selection (1999-2000 and 2000-2001), Meg was an All-Seven Sisters selection and tournament MVP in 2000, a New England Women's Basketball Association 2nd Team All-Region selection in 1999-00 and an ECAC 3rd Team All-Region selection in 2000-01.

A 2000-01 Kodak National All-American, Amy Barao Kullar '01 is one of two basketball student-athletes in Wellesley history to earn All-American honors. Barao ranks third all-time in Wellesley history with 1,246 points scored following a career where she twice earned NEWMAC All-Conference honors (1998-1999 and 1999-2000) and was a two-time Seven Sisters All-Tournament selection (1999-2000 and 2000-2001). Barao was named a New England Women's Basketball Association (NEWBA) All-Star as well as a senior game selection along with her sister Meg following their senior season in 2000-01. Amy Barao Kullar graduated as Wellesley's all-time leading 3-point shooter and played professionally for three years in Denmark.

Tracy Bassett '06 was the recipient of the 2006 Barbara Barnes Hauptfuhrer '49 Scholar-Athlete Award. A Division III All-American in 2004, the cross country standout was a two-time NEWMAC Runner of the Year, four-time NEWMAC All-Conference and All-New England finisher and a three-time individual NCAA Championship qualifier, earning a trip to the national meet in 2003, 2004, and 2005. She earned Division III Cross Country Coaches Association Academic All-America honors in 2002, 2003 and 2005 and NEWMAC All-Academic honors in 2003 and 2004. On the track, she remains the Wellesley record holder in the indoor 1500m with a time of 4:44.27, set during the 2003-2004 season.

Wellesley Athletics strives for excellence at the conference, regional, and national levels, while providing opportunities for students to achieve their potential and learn the values of discipline, leadership, critical thinking, and responsibility to oneself and others.