No. 5 Wellesley to Open NEWMAC Field Hockey Championship at No. 4 Springfield

Mitzi Wiggin and the Blue will travel to Springfield on Tuesday (Adam Richins).
Mitzi Wiggin and the Blue will travel to Springfield on Tuesday (Adam Richins).

2019 NEWMAC Field Hockey Championship Bracket 

NEWMAC Field Hockey Championship Gear Store

WESTWOOD, Mass. - The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has released the 2019 Field Hockey Championship Bracket with the conclusion of regular season competition on Saturday afternoon. The championship tournament consists of six teams. No. 5 Wellesley College will play at No. 4 Springfield in the NEWMAC Quarterfinals on Tuesday, November 5. Start Time for the game is 3:00 PM. 

In a head to head tie-break, Springfield (10-7, 4-4) emerged as the No. 4 seed, with Wellesley (10-8, 4-4) as the No. 5 seed. The Pride defeated the Blue, 4-1, earlier this season. The match-up will be the first in postseason play between the two teams since 2009, when Springfield defeated the Blue, 3-2, in overtime of the NEWMAC semifinals. 

After an undefeated league season, Babson (17-3, 8-0) secured the top-seed in the upcoming tournament, including a first round bye and the right to host a semifinal on Thursday. MIT claimed the No. 2 seed (11-4, 7-1) and also earns a first-round bye with semifinal hosting duties. WPI (16-2, 6-2) earned the No. 3 seed and will host a first round matchup. Rounding out the final position is No. 6 Mount Holyoke (9-9, 3-5).  

The championship week kicks off on Tuesday, as the Engineers will host the Lyons and the Blue will travel to the Pride. The top-seeded Beavers will host a semifinal matchup with the winner of the game between No. 5 Wellesley and No. 4 Springfield. The winner of No. 6 Mount Holyoke and No. 3 WPI will take on No. 2 MIT at the highest remaining seeds on Thursday, November 7th.

The winners of the each semifinal game will meet in the final game on Saturday, November 9th at the site of the highest remaining seed. 

2019 NEWMAC Field Hockey Championship

First Round: Tuesday, November 5th (at highest seeds)

No. 6 Mount Holyoke at No. 3 WPI – TBA

No. 5 Wellesley at No. 4 Springfield – TBA

Semifinals: Thursday, November 7th (at highest remaining seeds)

Winner No. 4/5 at No. 1 Babson – TBA

Winner No.3/No. 6 vs. No. 2 MIT – TBA

Championship: Saturday, November 9th (at highest remaining seed)

Semifinal Winners – 1:00 p.m.

The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference consists of 11 highly selective institutions committed to academic excellence: Babson College, Clark University, U.S Coast Guard Academy, Emerson College, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Smith College, Springfield College, Wellesley College, Wheaton College, and Worcester Polytechnic Institute.