Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wellesley Tennis Set for NEWMAC Postseason Tournament

Cristiana DeAgazio '24 and Michelle Shen '22 (Frank Poulin Photography)
Cristiana DeAgazio '24 and Michelle Shen '22 (Frank Poulin Photography)

WELLESLEY, Mass. – The New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) has announced the seeds for the 2022 Women's Tennis Championship bracket. The championship tournament will consist of six teams that will compete for the NEWMAC title, with matches that began on Tuesday, May 3rd.

MIT claimed the top seed and regular season title with a perfect 8-0 record and collect hosting rights for the semifinals and final rounds. Wellesley (7-1) clinched the No. 2 seed, while Babson (6-2) finished as the No. 3 seed, followed by Springfield (5-3) as the No. 4 seed, with both teams hosting an opening round match on Tuesday, May 3rd. 

NEWMAC tie-breaking procedures were conducted to determine the final two spots in the bracket with Wheaton (3-5) and Mount Holyoke (3-5) emerging as the No. 5 and No. 6 seeds, respectively. 

For the opening matches on Tuesday, the third-seeded Babson Beavers defeated the sixth-seeded Mount Holyoke Lyons 5-0 and the fourth-seeded Springfield Pride took down fifth-seeded Wheaton Lyons 5-1.

Top-seeded MIT will host the remaining contests, as the Engineers will take on No. 4 Springfield on Saturday, May 7th, at 10:30 AM while second-seeded Wellesley will face No. 3 Babson on Saturday at 2:00 PM at MIT. 

The winners of each semifinal contest will meet in the championship game on Sunday, May 8th at MIT.  

2022 NEWMAC Women's Tennis Championship Tournament:

Semifinals - Saturday, May 7 - at MIT

No. 4 Springfield vs. No. 1 MIT – 10:30 a.m.

No. 3 Babson vs. No. 2 Wellesley – 2:00 p.m.

Final - Sunday, May 8 - at MIT

Semifinal Winners – 12:00 p.m.