Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ann S. Batchelder Invitational

Ann S. Batchelder Invitational

Wellesley College annually hosts the Ann S. Batchelder Golf Invitational at the par-72, 5,860-yard Nehoiden Golf Club. The tournament will return in 2024 as a one-day Match Play event on April 13, 2024.

Ann S. Batchelder

Ann S. Batchelder has been an active supporter of Wellesley Athletics for over 40 years and was inducted into the Wellesley Athletics Hall of Fame in 2016. Ann was a Wellesley faculty member for 38 years, teaching physical education and also serving as one of the school’s varsity squash coaches. She retired in the spring of 2009 but continued to be an active supporter of Wellesley Athletics, establishing a charitable gift annuity for the Friends of Wellesley College Athletics. Her generosity created one of the largest gifts from a member of the College’s academic community and will benefit Wellesley student-athletes for years to come. 

Nehoiden Golf Course

In 1892, a seven-hole golf course was constructed on the grounds of Wellesley College, one of the first golf courses in New England. Although golf was noted as a college activity as early as 1893, a student golf club was not formed until the fall of 1896 under the auspices of the newly formed Wellesley Athletic Association. Eventually, the Wellesley Golf Club was formed, with its members drawn from the College, Dana Hall School, and the Town of Wellesley. In 1900, the club petitioned the College for development of a new nine-hole golf course on college property, built on the current Washington Street-Dover Road site. In 1906, the College reclaimed possession of the course and responsibility for its maintenance and management. The club was reorganized as the Wellesley College Golf Club and, in 1908, the College reopened membership to residents of the Town of Wellesley. The golf course was renamed Nehoiden in 1929 and continues to be owned and maintained by the College. Nehoiden is currently the oldest nine-hole golf course in the country.

Tournament History
Year: Champion (Medalist, School)

2019: Williams (Joanna Kim, Williams)

2018: Amherst (Morgan Yurosek, Amherst)

2017: Amherst (Cordelia Chan, Williams)

2016: Amherst (Morgan Yurosek, Amherst)

2015: Williams (Phoebe Mattana, Williams)

2014: Williams (Tracey Kim, Williams)

2013: Williams (Georgiana Salant, Williams) 

2012: Williams (Georgiana Salant, Williams) 

2011: Williams (Georgiana Salant, Williams) 

2010: Williams (Alexandra Groetsema, Williams) 

2009: Williams (Alex Bello, Vassar)

2008: Middlebury (Alex Bello, Vassar)