Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wellesley Tennis Advances in B, C, D Draws on Day One of NEWITT

Jennifer Fan '24 (Frank Poulin)
Jennifer Fan '24 (Frank Poulin)

NORTHAMPTON & HOLYOKE, Mass. - Wellesley College tennis won five of its six team matches on Friday at the New England Women's Intercollegiate Tennis Tournament (NEWITT), hosted by Smith and Mount Holyoke.

Blue first years Suzanne Xu (Boyds, Md.) and Michelle Yeo (Singapore) helped Wellesley win 3-0 in its round of 16 "B" draw match against Nichols' team of junior Antonia Carrero (Hamburg, Germany) and sophomore Charis Volger (Brandenburg, Germany). Xu won 8-1 over Volger, Yeo notched an 8-6 victory over Carrero, and the pair won 8-4 in doubles.

In the "C" draw, Wellesley sophomore Emilee Pak (Chicago, Ill.) and first year Veda Madhusudan (Short Hills, N.J.) earned a 3-0 sweep in the round of 16 over Mount Holyoke sophomores Kennedy Bagley-Fortner (Montclair, N.J.) and Kate Vavra (Weston, Mass.). Madhusudan won 8-2 over Vavra, Pak defeated Bagley-Fortner 8-1, and the Blue won doubles 8-2.

First years Lily Cade (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Kriti Sarav (Chicago, Ill.) had a convincing 3-0 victory in the "C" draw quarterfinals against Endicott junior Ana Mar Molina (Sachse, Texas) and first year Amber Woods (Scarborough, Maine). Sarav and the doubles match had identical 8-0 scores while Cade won 8-2 in singles.

Senior Jennifer Fan (Vancouver, British Columbia) and first year Dalia Khera (Houston, Texas) earned a 3-0 shutout for the Blue in the "D" draw quarterfinals against Emerson's team of first year Beverly Jayden and Evlin Walsh. 

Fan and Khera went on to win a 3-0 semifinal match against Trinity's Hellena Trojer (Reading, Mass.) and Kennedy White (Golden, Colo.). Fan beat Trojer 8-1 and Khera won 8-2 over White before the duo won 8-1 in doubles. 

Wellesley seniors Annissa Mu (Saratoga, Calif.) and Melinda Alviar (Indianapolis, Ind.) fell 3-0 to Amherst's duo of junior Deliala Friedman (Brooklyn, N.Y.) and first year Lily Dounchis (Naples, Fla.). 

NEWITT competition continues tomorrow at Smith and Mount Holyoke, beginning at 9 AM.